Sacral Chakra or Swadhistana - Chakracize with our Second Energy Wheel

Resistance to change is a very normal reaction to all of us. Perhaps a prayer to begin our practice would be most beneficial.
A Prayer To Overcome Resistance To Change
God, I hand over my life to you,
Take the problems of the day and show me the gift behind them.
Take the joys of the day so that I may see You in them and my joy may be all the greater.
Dear God, I know I might take the day back into my hands, so please guide me to do otherwise.
Please guide me to look to you to be my strength.
Please guide me to trust you for the solutions.

Accepting change allows us to grow!
Beginning our practice in Anjali Mudra with all four corners of our hands pressed together, our seated posture grounds us to the blanket or mat underneath our sitting bones. Our pranayama or breath practice is the sipping breath. Starting at the base of our spine, we sip seven breaths imagining each breath energizing from the root chakra to the crown chakra (pausing at each energy wheel or chakra). Exhaling very slow and completely, we release our breath all the way down. Let your breath lead. Physically our breath goes in and down, up and out. Energetically, our breath rises up to the top and returns down the spine to the base. Quieting our minds is always the key. If your mind wanders, bring it back to the counting of seven as you inhale and exhale and allow yourself to practice detachment to the various thoughts that arise.

As we transition to our back, we keep our breath at the count of seven in Bridge pose (Setu Bandha Sarvangasana) with our heels close to our hips, palms flat to the floor beside us. Inhaling lifting our hips and thighs, raising our arms above us, and exhaling lowering each vertebra down to the mat along with our arms. In yoga we often call this a gentle Bridge flow. Then, resting in Supta Baddha Konasana (lying down Cobbler's pose), we bring our awareness to an area above our pubic bone and a finger's width below our navel, the area of our Swadisthana Chakra. Imagine a bright orange ball growing and expanding to all areas of our body and mind. Orange is the color of the Sacral Chakra, water is the element, and the lotus flower of six petals with the central theme of creative life energy.

Rolling over to a prone position and coming to all fours, Quadriped or hands and knees, we continue our yoga practice in Cat/Cow (Marjaryasana/Bitilasana) and then move into Downward Facing Dog (Adho Mukha Svanasana) with hips circling in a figure eight. By activating the Sacral Chakra, we can come into contact with the wellsprings of our passion for living as the flow of this energy sharpens all of the senses and increases the pleasure we find in living.

Walking our feet to our hands in a Forward Folding position (Uttanasana), we bring our hands to opposite elbows, cradling our forearms, and gently twist from side to side. On the next exhale as we ground down into our feet, we arise to Mountain pose (Tadasana) allowing our head and neck to be the final movement. People who have a strongly developed Sacral Chakra often show great vitality and energize others with the joy of life. The power of opening this chakra leads to increased self esteem and a positive awareness of change. Through this capacity of enthusiasm, we can have a positive effect on the people around us.

Surya Namaskar A or Sun Salute A begins our activating practice. Adding in the following yoga postures to build heat in our bodies:
Vasisthasana or Side Plank pose with feet together or top leg lifted
Anjaneyasana or Lunge pose - gradually opening up the hips and perhaps coming into a bent knee position on the mat catching our foot behind our hips with one hand
Virabhadrasana I or Warrior I pose moving into Viparita Virabhadrasana or Exalted Warrior with straight or bent front leg
Virabhadrasana II or Warrior II pose
Utthita Parsvakonasana or Side Angle pose with the modified position of front arm bent on thigh or hand reaching to the outside of the front foot on the block or the floor
Moon Goddess or Moonflower (Utkata Konasana) keeping our knees over our ankles and opening up our arms in Cactus Flower with bent elbows
Garudasana or Eagle pose for a standing balancing pose along with Ardha Chandrasana or Half Balancing Moon
Uttan Pristhasana or Lizard pose as we deepen our awareness and open our hips. We realize the more we can accept the emotions that arise, the less "stuffing of our emotions" we allow.
Ardha Vasisthasana or Modified Side Plank with knee on the floor as we raise the extended leg, bending the knee of the raised leg, and catching the top foot behind us with the same extended arm. Thus, we open up our chests and hips.
Downward Frog or Adho Muka Mandukasana with knees on a blanket and elbows on the floor in front of us as we open our feet out to the side, we relax our jawline noticing any tension that arises as possible tension holding in the hip region as well.
Eka Pada Rajakapotasana or Pigeon Pose
(three poses with the final pose being the Thread the Needle with our hand coming towards our bent knee)
Gomukhasana or Cow Faced Pose using a strap behind our backs to lengthen our spine upwards while binding the hands behind us
Agnistambhasana or Fire Log Pose with blanket underneath the top crossed leg if there is so much tightness in our hips that our top bent knee is raised off our bottom ankle
Seated Baby Cradle
Returning to our Bridge flow and finishing up in a Supta Baddha Konasana or Supine Bound Angle using blocks underneath our thighs, a strap around our heels and waist, and blankets or blocks underneath our open palmed hands. Giving ourselves a check-up to see if we need to work on our Sacral Chakra with the following questions:

Do I enjoy life?
Do I appreciate life and all of the ebb and flow of the changes in life?
Am I too hard on myself and put too much appreciation on self-discipline or self-control?
Do I feel that my creativity is blocked?
Am I preoccupied with feelings of guilt or jealousy?
Am I struggling with severe menstral pain as a woman or prostrate issues as a man?
Do I have continual back pain, kidney, or bladder problems?
Do I feel that my physical drives are controlling me or do I have a lack of sensuality?

As we finish our yoga practice with the second chakra, place our left hand below our navel in the middle of our belly and rest the right hand gently on the left. Breathe consciously and slowly into your stomach so that your hands rise and fall in our final relaxation pose. Affirm yourself with the three life affirmations as follows:

I enjoy life with all of my senses.
I give creativity and freedom in all of my life even with the changes that life affords me.
I lovingly accept my body and sensuality.

As we release the strap around our waist and ankles, remove the blocks, and stay in a supine position, our final yoga posture is Jathara Parivartanasana or Stomach Twist/Supine Twist. Then rolling over to our right side, pausing for three breaths, and coming back to a seated posture.

Since water is the element of this chakra, we need to drink a full eight ounces of water after our final seated posture as we return to the beginning of our practice with prayer hands in front of our heart.



  1. The swadhisthana chakra is associated with water. This energy center offers direct access to flow, flexibility, and fun. This Chakra is very important to me as the Swadhisthana Chakra defines how we connect with others, how we choose relationships and what they mean to us.

    Anamaya Resort


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Yoga Poses for Lower Back and Arthritis Pain

18 Hopes, Dreams, Aspirations

You Are Not Too Old, and It is Not Too Late!