Showing posts from February, 2011

Chakracize with the Anahata Chakra - the Heart

Last night Brian and I went to a couples' group at church about love and relationships. It was called, "Love Talk." After the initial introductions and video we got right to the point about getting where you want to go. I thought it sounded so much like "setting your intention" which is what we do at the beginning of each yoga practice. Here are some of the suggestions that were made.
1. Be a better listener
2. Stay on point in discussions
3. Don't finish my partner's sentences
4. Curb my emotions when talking
5. Be more sensitive to my partner's feelings
6. Think clearly before speaking
7. Avoid jumping to conclusions
8. Tune in to and discern the other's emotions
9. Maintain eye contact while talking
10. Be more vulnerable
11. Speak with more clarity
12. Invite and receive feedback
13. Use more humor
14. Come across personally warmer
15. Be more assertive with my needs
16. Better assess when to talk
17. Don't jump to conclusions

Love Talk by Drs. Les and L…

God grant me the serenity

God grant me the serenity to accept the people I cannot change, the courage to change the one I can, and the wisdom to know it's me. ~Author Unknown

Change is good for us. I believe that when we learn to let go of our attachment to not changing; changing can benefit us in so many ways.

Due to our big snow in February, our school day has become longer. As an elementary teacher, I must adapt to the change. Therefore, all of our classes during the weekdays will move to 5:30 p.m. We will compensate by having a Sunday afternoon class for beginners and intermediates at 2:30. Saturday mornings our yoga practice offers two different time frames. One is Sunrise Yoga at 7:00 a.m., and the other is at 9:00 a.m. for Yoga + Pilates.

I apologize for the change, but I know that life brings events that often change us as we learn to accept the inevitability that nothing is permanent.

So, how is it that when life is spun around by circumstances, benign or otherwise, some people flail, while others sa…

Restorative Yoga at 2:30 Sunday afternoon

"The primary aim of yoga is to restore the mind to simplicity and peace, to free it from confusion and distress. This sense of calm comes from the practice of yogic asanas (postures) and pranayama (breath work). Unlike other forms of exercise which strain muscles and bones, restorative yoga gently rejuvenates the body." Often in our fast paced world, we look for fast paced exercise. However, even too much power yoga and not any restorative yoga can be hard on the body and mind.

Today is our make-up class for last week's snow day on Wednesday evening. We are doing a restorative yoga class which is pose specific and uses a lot of props. It is for beginners and intermediates, and you are welcome to bring a friend to punch off your Tranquility Yoga card since it is February friend month.

If you haven't been to yoga in a while or are a new beginner, this class is for you. If you are a heavy duty exercise person, this class is for you. If you only like power yoga, …

I CAN Manipura Chakra - Chakracize with us #3 in a series

Third Chakra – Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
“I CAN!” is the theme of this chakra balancing.
I can overcome fear. I can overcome guilt. I can overcome negative self-talk. I can overcome doubt and mistrust. I can overcome defeat. I can overcome! One of my favorite Bible verses goes with the “I CAN” message. “I can do all things through Christ Who strengthens me.”

People who have blockages in the third chakra often are prey to insecurity and may suffer from a lack of life energy. Worry may sap that energy from us. Weakness in this chakra area has a detrimental effect like none other. A weak Manipura chakra will hinder the development of all the other chakras due to insecurity on one end and defiance of authority on the opposite side. The protection of our self and things identifies with our physical nature or ego make up the bottom half of the lower three chakras (base or root chakra, creative or sacral chakra, and the navel or solar plexus chakra).

Blockages can lead to diffe…

Yoga Poses for Lower Back and Arthritis Pain

Many people struggle with pain in their lumbar spine. I gave classes back in December for arthritic pain. Here is an excerpt from a private training for arthritis in the lower back. I hope that it will be beneficial to all who struggle with this issue.

One key factor in preventing strain in the lumbar spine is to maintain its natural degree of curvature. Too much or too little with excessive lordosis or flat lower back can be a precondition for arthritis and poor movement patterns resulting in pain. Normal curvature is maintained by balancing the two actions of moving the top of the thighs back, which arches the lower spine, and then pulling the tailbone down.
General tips for yoga include the following when dealing with arthritis and lower back discomfort:
• In forward folding, remember to bend at the hips not at the waist. Bring the top of your sacrum forward. Tightness in the hamstrings may make this challenging, but soften the knees.
• During twisting movements, stabilize the…

Sacral Chakra or Swadhistana - Chakracize with our Second Energy Wheel

Resistance to change is a very normal reaction to all of us. Perhaps a prayer to begin our practice would be most beneficial.
A Prayer To Overcome Resistance To Change
God, I hand over my life to you,
Take the problems of the day and show me the gift behind them.
Take the joys of the day so that I may see You in them and my joy may be all the greater.
Dear God, I know I might take the day back into my hands, so please guide me to do otherwise.
Please guide me to look to you to be my strength.
Please guide me to trust you for the solutions.

Accepting change allows us to grow!
Beginning our practice in Anjali Mudra with all four corners of our hands pressed together, our seated posture grounds us to the blanket or mat underneath our sitting bones. Our pranayama or breath practice is the sipping breath. Starting at the base of our spine, we sip seven breaths imagining each breath energizing from the root chakra to the crown chakra (pausing at each energy wheel or chakra). Exhaling ver…